Gary E. Friedlaender, MD, current Wayne O. Southwick Professor and Chair of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation at Yale University School of Medicine, and Chief at Yale-New Haven Hospital, is the honoree of the ninth annual William W. Tipton, Jr. MD Leadership Award for his work as a researcher, mentor, educator, and leader. Established by friends, colleagues, and partner organizations through AAOS and the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF), the Tipton Award honors the qualities exemplified by the late Dr. Tipton, including commitment to mentorship, diversity, bridge-building, and collaboration.

Dr. Friedlaender is amongst the longest serving orthopaedic chairs in the country. He has educated generations of orthopaedic surgeons who have gone on to significant leadership positions, reflecting his stature as a master teacher and role model in orthopaedics. Dr. Friedlaender has served as President of the American Orthopaedic Association (AOA), the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS), the Academic Orthopaedic Society (AOS), the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons (ABJS), the American Association of Tissue Banks (AATB), and the American Council on Transplantation (ACT), as well as having chaired the AAOS Council on Musculoskeletal Specialty Societies and Committee on Research.
Dr. Friedlaender chaired the National Arthritis Board (NIAMS/NIH) and is the recipient of Kappa Delta Award (AAOS/ORS) and Nicholas Andre Award (ABJS) for his research.
For more information about Dr. Friedlaender and the AAOS Tipton Leadership Award, visit

< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.