Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets

May 01, 2013

Academy Announces 2013 Media Orthopaedic Reporting Excellence (MORE) Award Winners

Media competition honors journalists for bone & joint health-related coverage

Rosemont, Ill. –The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) announces the winners of the 2013 MORE Awards competition.  These awards are presented to media who demonstrate excellence in reporting and further the public’s understanding of musculoskeletal health-related issues.  This distinguished group of journalists will be recognized at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C., held in conjunction with the Academy’s National Orthopaedic Leadership Conferenceon the evening of Thursday, May 2nd.
 “Each day, the Academy champions the interests of patients and the general public by providing accurate, timely information on orthopaedic conditions, treatments and related issues,” said Academy President Joshua J. Jacobs, MD.  “This year’s MORE Award recipients have creatively and meticulously brought important issues related to bone, muscle and joint health to the forefront, through engaging stories. We consider the media an important partner in our mission, and we are grateful for your exceptional work.”
This year’s 22 MORE Award winners represent a diverse group of health and medical writers, producers and freelance reporters in print, broadcast and online outlets. Entries were judged by a distinguished panel of orthopaedic surgeons, and evaluated for overall quality, accuracy and success in promoting greater awareness of musculoskeletal health issues. The 2013 MORE Award winners by category are:
Consumer Print Journalism: National Magazine
  • Amelia Harnish and Julie Bain, Ladies’ Home Journal, “Keep Your Hips and Knees Happy”
  • Sherry Ballou Hanson, Turkey Country Magazine, “Getting the Boot”
  • Jessica Branch, Prevention Magazine, “Find Your Inner Strength”
  • Camille Chatterjee, Health Magazine, “A User’s Manual: Your Hands/Your Knees/Your Feet/Your Back”
  • Caitlin A. Kelly, Arthritis Today, “Rebel with a Cause”
  • Tom Slear, AARP, “5 Tips for Successful Hip Replacement Surgery”
Consumer Print Journalism: Local Magazine
  • Wendy Sweet, Tucson Lifestyle Magazine, “Reconstructing Hope”
Consumer Print Journalism: Local Newspaper
  • Frank Fellone, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, “Sore point: The poor, overworked rotator cuff”
  • Mike Foley, The Greenville News, “New joints to stay active”
  • Susan Olp, The Billings Gazette, “Ugandan teenager smiling days after complex surgery” and “African youth enjoying life after spine surgery”
  • Bonnie Miller Rubin, Chicago Tribune, “Walk-Off Victories”
  • Rick Ruggles, Omaha World-Herald, “Joint replacement do-overs more common, still risky”
  • Jeff Strickler, Minneapolis Star-Tribune, “Weak in the KNEES”
  • Cindy Uken, The Billings Gazette, “No Limits.”
Online Journalism: Internet
  • Tom Goldstone,, “Airman loses both legs and hand but finds new life”
  • Angeline Rohan,, “A Nation in Motion: Orthopaedic Surgery and the Story of Bobby Menges”
Broadcast Journalism: National Television
  • Ben Houser, ESPN, “Stand and Deliver”
  • Max Brodsky, ESPN, “Turning Point”

Broadcast Journalism: Local Television
  • Katharin Czink, WGN-TV (Chicago), “Operation Walk Chicago helps patient from Nepal”

Broadcast Journalism: Local Radio
  • Deborah Goldman, Senior Voice on WHNZ Radio 1250 (Tampa Bay, Fla.), “Hip Fractures”
  • J.D. Harrison, Washington Post, “Health-care law driving doctors away from small practices toward hospital employment”
  • Steve Teske, Bloomberg BNA, “Number of Independent Physician Practices Continues to Decline, House Committee Told”

To view these winning submissions, go to:  
The MORE Award competition is open to all journalists, freelance writers and editors in print, broadcast or online media.  For information on how to enter the 2014 MORE Awards go to The call for entries will be posted in June 2013.

# # #

Follow AAOS on Twitter
Become a fan of AAOS on Facebook
Lauren Pearson Riley
phone: 847-384-4031
< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.